A deanery is a geographical region of a diocese, made up of several parish communities.

Each deanery is headed by a priest who acts as the “dean”. He is appointed by the archbishop. The dean has the authority to call together the clergy of the deanery and the Deanery Pastoral Council.

We have five deaneries, each named according to the major parish:

  • Deanery One: Girouxville                                              Dean: Rev. Christian Ogbonna, SDV

Donnelly, Eaglesham, Falher, Girouxville, Guy, McLennan, St. Isidore, Tangent

  • Deanery Two: Peace River                                            Dean: Rev. Nel Esguerra

Duncan’s First Nation, Fairview, Grimshaw, Hawk Hills, Hines Creek, Manning, Nampa, Peace River, Whitelaw

  • Deanery Three: Grande Prairie                                  Dean: Rev. Remi Hebert, C.Ss.R.

Beaverlodge, Bezanson, Crooked Creek, Grande Prairie, Hythe, Horse Lake, Rio Grande, Rycroft, Sexsmith, Silver Valley, Spirit River, Sturgeon Lake, Valleyview, Wanham

  • Deanery Four: Slave Lake                                   Dean: Rev. Ephrem Njallaniyil

Atikameg, Cadotte Lake, Calling Lake, Chipewyan Lake, Driftpile, East Prairie, Faust, Gift Lake, Grouard, High Prairie, Joussard, Kinuso, Little Buffalo, Peavine, Red Earth Creek, Slave Lake, Smith, Sucker Creek, Trout Lake, Wabasca-Desmarais

  • Deanery Five: High Level                                             Dean: Rev. Henry Kiggundu

Chateh, Eleske, Fort Vermilion, Fox Lake, Garden River, High Level, John D’Or Prairie, Keg River, Meander River, Paddle Prairie, Rainbow Lake, Tall Cree

Each deanery has a Deanery Pastoral Council, which is made up of all the priests who serve in the deanery, any Sisters or paid pastoral workers, and at least one representative from each parish, quasi-parish, and mission in the deanery. The Deanery Pastoral Council meets at least four times each year, to share the challenges and successes in their communities, and to respond to any requests made of the deanery, in particular, by the archbishop.

For more information on parishes, quasi-parishes and missions, click here.